School Year, Holidays, and PD Days

The Board of Directors of Yukon Parents for Montessori Society along with the teaching staff, set the school calendar for the academic year.

YMS will be closed on all Statutory Holidays in the Yukon.

There are four Professional Development days where the school will be closed for students so that staff can engage in collaborative planning and put programs in place to best meet the needs of students.

2019 – 2020 School Calendar:

Classes Start:
Tuesday, September 3rd, 2019

Classes Finish:
Friday, June 19, 2020

Statutory Holidays:

  • Thanksgiving Day – Monday, October 14, 2019
  • Remembrance Day – Monday, November 11, 2019
  • Heritage Day – Friday, February 28, 2020
  • Good Friday – Friday, April 10, 2020
  • Easter Monday – Monday, April 13, 2020
  • Victoria Day – Monday, May 18, 2020

Christmas Break
Monday, December 23, 2019 – Friday, January 3, 2020

Spring Break
Monday, March 16, 2020 – Friday, March 27, 2020

Professional Development Days 

Friday, October 11, 2019 (Friday before Thanksgiving)
Friday, November 8, 2019 (Friday before Remembrance Day)
Monday, March 2, 2020 (Monday after Heritage Day)
Friday, May 15, 2020 (Friday before Victoria Day)

Google Calendar Updated Regularly